The Future Governor

2 Oct

Read: Luke 12:4-7

“So let us come boldly to the throne of our gracious God.  There we will receive his mercy, and we will find grace to help us when we need it.”

Hebrews 4:16 NLT

 

It had been a long morning on the State Affairs committee and, wrapping up my work somewhat later than anticipated, I decided to head out for some food.  As I exited the House chambers, I noticed that instead of grabbing lunch, the majority of the other pages had hung back and were now leaning over the railing of the rotunda, mouths agape.  Curious, about what had attracted such a crowd of admirers (and, more importantly, distracted them from their meal) I too, leaned over the rail.

There, beneath us was the Governor.  I had been collecting the signatures of each elected official in a special volume I’d obtained prior to the session and, seeing the opportunity to add another to the collection, took off at top speed.  Rushing down the curved, marble stairs, I made a b-line across the slick floor and came to a stop just in front of where he stood.  “You don’t know me, Sir,” I began, “but I’m the future governor of Idaho.  May I have your autograph?”

The approach worked better than I expected.  A week later, all of the pages were formally introduced to the Governor.  As I entered the office, he pointed and, shaking his finger announced, “I remember you!”

While most of the pages were horrified by my initial boldness, the result was that I was able to acquire the thing which I was after: the Governor’s signature.  And Scripture promises similar results when we exhibit boldness in approaching God.  Bought with the blood of His Son, we too now have the right to approach Him with both confidence and candor – anytime, anywhere, and for any reason.  What a blessing to know that we always have His ear!

Challenge:  Do you talk with God about everything or do you save your prayers for the “big” issues?  Scripture tells us that God is intimately concerned with the details of our lives… even those details that seem unimportant to anyone other than us.  This week, make a concerted effort to share all that takes place in your life with the One who loved you enough to send His son!

Leave a Reply

