The Pumpkini

27 Mar

Read:  Hebrews 10:19-25

“Now accept the one who is weak in faith, but not for the purpose of passing judgment on his opinions… So then we pursue the things which make for peace and the building up of one another.”

– Romans 14:1, 19 NASB

 

It had been a busy afternoon, interrupted only briefly by the rain storms that had finally decided to grace our all-too-dry farm lands.  We were about thirty minutes from closing when, despite the rain, we had one final sweep of customers and had to open up several tills to handle the flood.  Even this, however, was insufficient to meet the need.

I was standing in the check stand carefully balancing my tasks: conversing with my customer, operating the till, talking on the radio, and answering another customer across the counter… when the phone rang.  Picking it up, I gave my standard “thanks for calling” speech.

The caller waited patiently for me to conclude, then asked, “I wanted to know if there could be such a thing as a pumpkini?”

“A what?” I hesitated, my hands just above my till, waiting for me to total the sale.

“A pumpkini,” she repeated.  “I planted my Zucchini and my Pumpkins fairly close together and I wondered if it were possible that they cross-pollinated.  I picked a Zucchini today and it was green and shaped like a Zucchini, but it was hard like a pumpkin.  When I opened it up it was orange inside and had pumpkin seeds in it!”

I raised my eyebrows and then turned to my boss as I covered the receiver.  “Can a Zucchini and a Pumpkin cross-pollinate?”

The answer?  Yes.

As Christians, we too are able to cross-pollinate.  While stronger believers have the responsibility of setting an example, even the weakest of us have something to give as we engage with others through the act of fellowship.  As Christians interact with one another, we have the opportunity to build each other up, encouraging one another as we strive to develop a closer walk with the Lord.  And one thing is guaranteed: none of us will be left unchanged!

Challenge:  This week, keep your eyes open for opportunities to encourage other believers.  Then, commit to following through when those opportunities present themselves!

One Response to “The Pumpkini”

  1. Daron Henson March 28, 2013 at 13:02 #

    Thank you. i always enjoy your biblical epitaphs.

Leave a Reply

