The Boot Department

16 Jan

Read: Psalm 119:9-16

“I have hidden your word in my heart, that I might not sin against you.”

Psalm 119:11 NLT

One of the things I most disliked about the winter season was working in the boot department.  Snow boots are in great demand in my part of the country and our stores get flooded with desperate parents the instant the first snow starts falling (generally sometime in July).

The result of this sudden influx is that it becomes impossible to walk down the boot aisle without tripping over the merchandise, empty boxes, and wads of paper which have been left scattered across the floor. My job? To clean it up.  This was a monotonous and involved disposing of the paper wads in the proper waste receptacle, reuniting the boots with their mates, and straightening the merchandise on the shelves.

After several days of this, I grew weary of the task and began looking for something to distract me while I worked.  After all, if you’re thinking about something interesting, even the most boring work can become pleasant.  I gave the issue some consideration and came up with a solution: I would use the time to memorize Scripture.  That night, I went home and typed up a list of verses which could be stuffed into my pocket.

Over the following weeks, I devoted myself to memorizing as I cleaned and organized the mess left behind by the flurry of shoppers.  And, as I repeated God’s words over and over, something strange began to happen.  Not only did an unpleasant task become tolerable, it actually became enjoyable!  I watched as the constant reminder of God’s goodness to me showed itself in an improved attitude toward others.  And those around me noticed the change as well.

Challenge: What do you think about when you are given tedious tasks?  If your thoughts aren’t productive, why not put your time to better use through prayer or Scripture memorization? You may be surprised by the results!

Leave a Reply

