The Chill Before Dawn

12 Dec

Read: Matthew 4:12-17

“So we have the prophetic word made more sure, to which you do well to pay attention as to a lamp shining in a dark place, until the day dawns and the morning star arises in your hearts.”

2 Peter 1:19

I pulled my robe more tightly about me as the chill air swept across the deck… and waited.  Moments passed and then I felt it, the warmth of the sun as the golden glow of its beams illuminated my journal.  It is the same every morning: I step onto the deck for my devotional time and sit there in comfort until the rising sun ducks behind the house.  At that moment, the chill comes, sometimes so frigid that it feels as though winter has come early.  Then, just as quickly, the sun reappears, chasing away the cool air and bathing everything in its warmth and radiance.  I can’t help gazing upward as I ponder the old adage, “It’s always darkest just before dawn.”

So many times throughout my Christian walk, I have experienced the truth of this.  Trials, hardships, and misfortunes block my way, often leaving me feeling cold and in the dark, incapable of seeing my way forward.  Yet Scripture has promised that, even in the deepest shadows, Hope remains.  God has given us His Word as a light, a reminder that our struggles are only the precursors to that glorious dawn when we will find ourselves standing in His presence forever.  This is hope, indeed!

Challenge:  Today, take the time to seek God – especially in difficult circumstances.  You may be surprised at what you find!

Leave a Reply

