Paint Pigment and Sesame Street

24 Oct

(The following excerpt is taken from “Retail Ready: 90 Devotions for Teens in the Workforce”, available for purchase on Kindle for $7.99 or in print from Amazon for $9.99.)

Read: 1 John 1:5-10

“All of us have become like one who is unclean, and all our righteous acts are like filthy rags; we all shrivel up like a leaf, and like the wind our sins sweep us away.” – Isaiah 64:6

I was terribly excited when my first employer decided to teach me to mix paint.  I had spent plenty of time watching the other employees use the fancy color matching machine, gazing over their shoulders with fascination as they added pigment to the white base inside of the paint cans, creating an exact match for the color which our customers had chosen.

Perhaps it was thanks to my intense interest that I picked up on the process quite easily.  In a very short period of time, I had taken to mixing colors like a pro and was feeling pretty confident in my skill.  There was, however, one warning which they had inadvertently forgotten to share and the mess which resulted from my lack of understanding was about to have a noticeable affect upon my weekend.

It was a busy Saturday afternoon and I had retired to the back to mix up a gallon for a customer.  Unfortunately, it turned out that the last person to use the machine had not cleaned it properly and the pigment nozzles were clogged.  It didn’t seem to matter how much pressure I applied to the levers, I could not get the small metal tubes to squirt out any pigment at all.  Digging through the supplies, I found a nail and began to follow the prescribed procedure for clearing the nozzles.  Shoving the nail up into the tiny hole, I pulled it out again with a wad of dried pigment attached.

Unfortunately, the aforementioned wad of pigment was not all that was in the hole.  The wad had formed a sort of scab on the end of the nozzle, preventing some of the liquid pigment involved in the previous mixing from leaving the chamber.  When the wad was removed, this liquid pigment saw its opportunity to escape and, within seconds, my hands, arms, and shins were covered in a shade of blue that would have made a Muppet proud.  (To this day I do not recall how I managed to get the pigment all over me like that.)  I finished mixing the paint and, while it was in the shaker, I wandered into the bathroom to wash off the mess. And it was here that I discovered that pigment is less like paint and more like permanent dye.  Thanks to this, I spent the rest of the day and a good part of the next week looking just like Grover from Sesame Street.

Scripture teaches us many truths about sin and, one of the most important is that, like paint pigment: it doesn’t take much to cause a great deal of damage.  While the stain of paint pigment eventually does disappear through time and exposure, the stain of sin isn’t quite so “easy” to remove.  The Bible tells us that only the cleansing blood of Christ is strong enough to remove sin from our lives and return us to our intended state!

Challenge: Are you indulging sin in your life?  Remember that God’s rules are there to protect us.  Confess your failures to God, let Him remove the spots, then commit to living a life of obedience to His Word.

3 Responses to “Paint Pigment and Sesame Street”

  1. Charity Zechman May 23, 2012 at 11:35 #

    Excellent! The message is so true.

  2. kimberlymcpherson May 23, 2012 at 21:11 #

    Beautiful! I love it! I so needed to hear this today. What a gift you have.
    Blessings,
    Kimmy
    http://www.withoutalabel.me

  3. Jeremiah May 24, 2012 at 14:09 #

    I really enjoyed this!

Leave a Reply

