Look at Me!

10 Oct

(The following excerpt is taken from “Retail Ready: 90 Devotions for Teens in the Workforce”, available for purchase on Kindle for $7.99 or in print from Amazon for $9.99.)

Read: 1 Corinthians 10:23-33

“So whether you eat or drink or whatever you do, do it all for the glory of God.”
-1 Corinthians 10:31

I looked up as a member of the staff wandered discreetly over to my check stand. Glancing around, she leaned in towards me and rather quietly and whispered into my ear, “There’s a lady coming your way and she talks a lot!” She quickly described the woman to me, then grinned and informed me that she just thought she’d warn me.

I laughed, figuring that this customer was probably just one of those folks who particularly enjoys sharing their life with other people. I was wrong: this patron really enjoyed sharing her life with other people… and she did so in a very rapid, incoherent succession of words and thoughts.

As I listened to her, she told me all about everything she had done during the last four years of her life (or at least everything of note), carried on a one sided conversation with three different customers, and then proceeded to wander freely about the store talking to absolutely no one at all!

What made the whole episode truly amusing was that she would begin a conversation with one person and then walk away, talk to the air around her, come across another customer, and continue talking as if she had been speaking with that particular customer the whole time!

After she had checked out… twice… both times through my line… another staff member strolled over to me, “Sorry about that, I should have warned you about her and would have if I’d known she was here.” A few minutes later another employee came rushing in with a similar apology, “I was trying to get in here to warn you,” he said, “but I got tied up with another customer and couldn’t get free!” It seems that my customer was well known to everyone in the store and only for her ability to talk!

While I can’t honestly say anything bad about the lady (she was really rather sweet, just a little scattered), she did force me to consider my own life and who (or what) I spend all of my time talking about. Our customer had said some rather nice things about other people (and even complimented my outfit three times), but a majority of her monologue had been about herself. As Christians, however, our first concern should not be to draw attention to ourselves, but to our Master. We are told that anything and everything that we say and do should be to His glory. Our speech and actions should proclaim His glory, not our own!

Challenge: Does your conversations draw attention to yourself? To others? To God? As you go throughout your day, spend some time analyzing your dialogue. Are there ways that you can make it more Christ-centered? If there are, commit to act on these ideas!

2 Responses to “Look at Me!”

  1. Kimberly McPherson May 29, 2012 at 13:40 #

    I truly needed to hear this today. I know you mostly write for an audience of teens and young adults but this grown adult loves everything you write! I am so blessed to have people like you in my blogging community! Thank you for your constant words of inspiration and for letting the bible speak for itself! I will be working on what I portray to the world and I hope that my words make others want to be closer to the lord. Have you ever thought of publishing your book in the self help or struggling spirituality section? I think it would do a lot of people that are searching!
    Blessings,
    Kimmy
    http://www.withoutalabel.me

    • acgheen May 29, 2012 at 15:08 #

      I’m glad you found the thoughts encouraging! Blessings, A. C.

Leave a Reply

