Lest You Fall

19 Sep

Read: 1 Corinthians 10:1-13

“Therefore let him who thinks he stands take heed that he does not fall.” – 1 Corinthians 10:12 NASB

It was a beautiful morning.  The air was warm and still with just enough cloud cover to keep the burning sun off my skin.  As I rolled my bicycle out of the garage, I noticed that the air pressure in my tires was a little low – perfect for taking on obstacles.  Though I usually fled from road hazards, on this day, I found myself seeking them out.  Gravel.  Sand.  Mud.  I handled each one as though I had been born to ride trails.  And the more of them I encountered, the more confident I became.

Rolling back into town several hours later, I felt like a champion and it was with this thought in mind that I pulled up to the crosswalk.  Leaning to my right, I reached for the “walk” button… and fell over.  I had managed the trails, but now as I lay bleeding on the sidewalk trying to detangle myself from my bicycle, I knew that my confidence had gotten the better of me.

I won’t pretend that I haven’t had similar experiences during the course of my Christian walk.  Confident in my ability to deal with major trials and temptations, I lose sight of God as the source of my strength and get taken down by the “little” sins which I thought were beyond me.  Humiliating?  Yes.  Perhaps that’s why Scripture goes to such lengths to remind us that “pride goes before the fall”.  Only when we approach life with an attitude of humility can we be guaranteed to succeed!

Challenge:  Today, pay special attention to the areas in which you feel most confident.  Then, take the time to thank God for your success and ask His blessing upon your future endeavors.

2 Responses to “Lest You Fall”

  1. Gayle Herbert Robinson September 22, 2012 at 15:53 #

    Good word and perfect timing. God’s timing is always perfect and His words always come when the enemy tries to distract you from God’s will. “He gives you authority over all power of the enemy and to walk among serpents and scorpions and to crush them. Nothing shall injure me. However, the important thing is not that the demons obey, but that your names are recorded as citizens of heaven.” God Bless!

  2. patgarcia September 24, 2012 at 01:05 #

    Hi Anna,
    I so appreciate this article today. One of my favourite passages out of the Bible comes out of First Peter 5. Humble yourselves under the mighty hand of God. It is really my experience and my belief that those who are humble, God lifts up.

    Ciao,
    Patricia

Leave a Reply

