Run with Endurance

12 Sep

Read: Hebrews 11:39-12:2

“You are from God, little children, and have overcome them; because greater is He who is in you than he who is in the world.”  – 1 John 4:4 NASB

My thighs are burning, my pulse rate is high, and sweat is dripping unhindered down my face.  I don’t know much, but what I do know is that I’m ready to quit.  Glancing down at my timer I note, much to my dismay, that I’m only ten minutes into the designated workout.  Cautiously, I look around the room.  None of the other ladies seem to notice me off in a corner by myself.  No one will know if I quit.  No one would blame me if I did – after all, endurance exercise just isn’t my thing.  I reach for the “end” button, but pause as I notice the words scrawled across the white board tucked behind a treadmill near the window, “What is inside you is greater than any obstacle.”  Looking once more at the clock, my hand falls to my side… and I finish the run.

More than once, I’ve felt a similar desire to give up on my Christian race.  Conflicts with friends and at church, trials at work, and frustrations with family can all pile up so quickly that they seem to be more than I can bear.  Yet it is at that very moment when I feel most ready to throw in the towel that God’s Spirit quietly reminds me that “He who is in me is greater than he who is in the world.”  The obstacles before me may seem overwhelming, but the God who is in me is greater.  Victory has been assured.

Challenge: Today, be on the lookout for those who may be struggling to stay in the race.  Then do something special to encourage them to keep running!

One Response to “Run with Endurance”

  1. Amedar September 12, 2012 at 22:17 #

    I like the valuable info you provide in your articles. I will bookmark your blog and check again here regularly. I am quite sure I will learn a lot of new stuff right here! Good luck for the next!

Leave a Reply

