It Isn’t About How Much You Know

10 Feb

This may come as a surprise, but preschoolers are often better evangelists than the rest of us.  Why?  Because they don’t know enough to think that sharing the Good News of God’s Grace is about “knowing enough”.  It’s easy (especially as we get older) to get caught up in the idea that you have to understand the details of every Biblical doctrine before you can effectively share the Gospel, but this simply isn’t true.  While having a grasp of apologetics (the organized defense of the faith) can be helpful, it certainly isn’t necessary!  All God needs are people who know Him and are willing to do what He tells them.  Christ, himself, said in Matthew 10:19-20:

“But when they hand you over, do not worry about how or what you are to say; for it will be given you in that hour what you are to say.  For it is not you who speak, but it is the Spirit of your Father who speaks in you.”

God just wants willing hearts that are ready to love.

That said, one of our greatest fears about sharing the Gospel can now be put to rest:  You can’t blow it! In my opinion, this is the single most important thing to keep in mind.  I can’t recall the number of times I’ve shared the Gospel and have then spent hours afterwards wondering if I’d said the right thing! Was my reply perfectly worded?  Did I make the nuances of the doctrine clear?  Should I have stated my position more adamantly?

In reality, I was wasting my time.  If God gives you the words to say and if it’s not up to you to make converts, then it’s impossible for you to blow it!  I’ve seen God do amazing things to make up for my own deficiencies and He will do the same for you! So relax, let go, and let God.

If you still find that sometimes your knees knock together and your palms sweat, that’s okay.  It happens to seasoned veterans too.  Maybe it’s God’s way of reminding us that He’s the engineer and that we’re just the tools He uses.

Several years ago, a teenage friend who had never shared the Gospel with anyone informed me that she had a friend who she couldn’t imagine being in Heaven without.  Over two months, we had many conversations about evangelism.  Then, one day she told me that God had revealed to her that it was time to make her faith known.  “I told my friend that I was a Christian and what it was all about and she was like totally cool about it!” Her face beamed with enthusiasm.

All of this just goes to prove that courage isn’t the absence of fear, but the judgment that there is something more important: the eternal destiny of a lost soul.  God is with you and He won’t let you down!

Leave a Reply

