Women and Tools

30 Jan

Read: Hebrews 10:19-25

“Two are better than one because they have a good return for their labor.  For if either of them falls, the one will lift up his companion.”

Ecclesiastes 4:9-10a NASB

 

They say that seventy percent of tools are purchased by women.  Given some of the women I’ve met, this doesn’t surprise me in the least.  My mother is the tool hoarder in our family… and it doesn’t take long to recognize that not every tool she purchases is… well, immediately useful.  She’s conned my father into buying her (among other things) a set of chisels and a jig saw and, upon this particular occasion, it was a nail gun which topped her list.

It needs to be understood that at the time of the request, my mother didn’t have a particular use for a nail gun.  There were no projects waiting to be finished and no tentative remodeling to be done in the near future.  What did need to be done could have been accomplished with a staple gun.  But Mom’s mind was made up: there was a pile of scrap wood in the back of the house and that would do splendidly for what she had in mind.  My father wanted to purchase a brad gun instead, explaining that it was just a “lower caliber nail gun,” but my mother didn’t buy it: she wanted the real thing.

While the family found this amusing, Mom was far from alone in her lust for tools.  “I keep telling my husband I want one of these, but he thinks I’m kidding!” my customer declared as she dropped the tire iron on the counter.  “He buys me great romantic gifts, but this is what I really want.  Since he won’t buy it for me, I suppose I’ll buy it for myself!  It would have been very useful the other day when I was fixing the fence out back.”  She then proceeded to explain the lug wrench and a few other assorted tools scattered across the bottom of her cart.

What else could I do?  I smiled and told her about my mother.

 “Men just don’t understand!” she laughed.  “Tell your mother I hope she gets her nail gun!”

And I did just that.  Not surprisingly, both women found encouragement in each other’s tales, supported by the knowledge that they were not alone in their deep love for implements of construction.  In the same manner, we as Christians should find ourselves refreshed as we share stories of God’s grace in our lives with our brothers and sisters.  When we feel most alone, the companionship of these friends, their common love and common experience, will lift our spirits and encourage us to remain faithful… even though others fail to understand.

Challenge:  Close friends can be a big encouragement when it comes to pursuing a deeper faith in Christ.  Take some time to get to know the other believers in your congregation, encouraging them as they grow more Christ like and allowing them to encourage you as you do the same.  If you don’t attend church, commit to visiting churches in your area until you find one that’s a good fit.  You’ll be glad you did!

 

One Response to “Women and Tools”

  1. Rebecca Mealey January 30, 2013 at 17:35 #

    Your Mom sounds like a cute, precious and intelligent lady. I am terrible with tools, and have gone through most of life using a shoe as a hammer and a butter knife as a screwdriver. ):

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 525 other followers

